Maze Runner: Read it or else!

26 Sep

So Danielle has finally reviewed a book that I have wanted to read ever since seeing this interview with the author – James Dashner – who said his inspiration for Maze Runner was Ender’s Game, one of my other favorite books of all time. From the sounds of it, Maze Runner is definitely worth checking out.

Anyone else read it? Leave a comment and tell us what YOU think.

Mr. F

_____________________________________

I love my Kindle.

Now I love it even more because Maze Runner is on it.

Maze Runner is a Sci-fi book with mystery mixed in with it.

This book starts out with Thomas, a boy who only has enough memory to remember his name. He is taken up by some kind of elevator into Glade, a place where boys are ruling. Glade is a place with houses, farms, and woods, surrounded by a giant maze that moves its walls consistently, and in the night, lets horrible monsters called Grievers loose.

Boys come to Glade every month, like Thomas, in the elevator.

But this time, after Thomas, something happens that’s never happened before: A Girl.

After she arrives, everything goes wrong, the supplies stop coming. The Grievers start to eat one boy a night. Thomas and his friends have to figure out the maze before it’s too late.

This book is one of those books where you are totally surrounded by the sights and sounds of the book. That is my favorite type of book. My Kindle recommended this book to me.

I like constant action, mystery, and this book has it all! Like all books, it’s not perfect. It can be confusing at times, but this book is still on my top 10.

My Rating for Maze Runner:  Way 90

3 Responses to “Maze Runner: Read it or else!”

  1. Landon Carter September 27, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    The Maze Runner IS absolutely one of the best books I’ve read in quite a long time, and I tend to read a lot of books. Unfortunately, I was not as impressed with the sequel, The Scorch Trials. Hopefully, the third member of the trilogy, The Death Cure, doesn’t disappoint. I have a good feeling about the book, which comes out Oct. 11. What I thought was most interesting about The Maze Runner was how Thomas went from being a nothing and picked on all the time into someone all the Gladers looked up to.

    Rock on with all the great reviews!

    Signed, The Great Landini

    PS-Here’s an interesting idea you may want to look at: doing reviews of news-type literature. For example, you might be able to look at the fairness or thoroughness of articles, like these two I found pretty interesting in the NY Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/23/science/23speed.html?_r=1&hp and http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/24/science/24speed.html?hpw I think that the two articles accurately reflect the feelings of the community, even if they aren’t particularly thorough articles. The first one shows the initial reaction everyone had to the CERN announcement, the excitement. The second one shows the skepticism that people had once they stopped and thought about it a bit, and talked to their physicist friends. I think a new scale would have to be devised though, perhaps based off of some Rush Limbaugh article as a zero point on your scale (see http://www.rushlimbaugh.com/)

    • wferriter September 27, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

      Good to see you, Landini!

      And glad to know you like Maze Runner too. I’m going to have to check it out simply because I trust you.

      How would you compare it to Ender’s Game?

      That’s one of my favorite books of all time…and it was the author’s inspiration for Maze Runner.

      Mr. F

  2. Landon Carter September 28, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    I would actually have to say that I preferred Maze Runner to Ender’s Game. I also read Ender’s Game, and I loved it, but I think Maze Runner may be a more mature book. Maze Runner is not more mature in terms of reading level or anything like that (it’s actually more basic in that regard, one of its only weaknesses), but I believe that Maze Runner was more mature in that it wasn’t as straightforward as Ender’s Game. The only twist in Ender’s Game was at the end, when we learned about the cruelty of the humans. With Maze Runner, it seemed like every page held something new and unexpected. And I do mean that in the best way. The book wasn’t disconnected and didn’t take random directions, but there was just less than enough information given for you to piece everything together on your own.

    Maze Runner to me represented a cross between Ender’s Game and And Then There Were None, an excellent mystery novel by Agatha Christie (and I’m not normally a fan of mystery novels). Essentially, Maze Runner just throws you in the middle of the action and leaves you to figure it out. Maze Runner hints at many events, and provides parts of clues, so that when everything comes together in the end, it’s incredible how many events fall into place at once, which I take to be evidence of a master storyteller. James Dashner clearly didn’t just write the book as he went along, he wrote the book backwards, with the end in mind from the beginning. In Ender’s Game, everything progresses linearly, with one event following logically from the other. In Maze Runner, the book is almost like an upside-down tree. You start in many different directions in the smaller branches, and things start falling into place and connections are made so that you can pick up some major events, the main branches, and then all of a sudden, everything comes together into the trunk, where everything is united and explained (aside from a few things that are left for the later books in the trilogy).

    I would definitely recommend checking this book out from the library, but whether you check out Scorch Trials as well is up to you. I was not as much of a fan of that book.

    Happy Reading!
    Signed, The Great Landini

Leave a Reply

