The Hunger Games Rules. . .

27 Sep

I first heard rumblings of The Hunger Games a few years ago when one of my former students—a boy I called Johnny even though his name was not Johnny—stopped me in the hallway and said:

Have you read The Hunger Games?  It’s the BEST book ever!

Considering that I could never get Johnny to read anything other than Manga when he was in my class, I figured The Hunger Games HAD to be pretty good.  Any book that could hook Johnny had potential because Johnny wasn’t easy to hook.

So I stopped by the bookstore on the way home from school, bought me a copy, and started reading—and like Johnny, I was hooked.  It was one of those titles that I couldn’t stop thinking about and that I couldn’t put down.

What makes The Hunger Games so remarkable to me is that it is a violent, blow ’em up, rock ’em, sock ’em robot kind of book.  Almost every chapter sees the main character—Katniss Everdeen—in a predicament fit only for an imagination.  She’s chased by horrible creatures, hunted by horrible kids, and forced to do horrible things.

All while becoming the star of one of the most shocking reality shows of all time—a show brewed up by an evil government to punish their citizens by pitting 24 kids against each other in a fight to the death on live television.

Crazy, isn’t it?

Each death is broadcast on a nightly program that captures the attention of the entire nation.  Each act of brutality is celebrated by a country.

What made The Hunger Games different from all of the other gory books I’ve read in my life though—and I’ve read a bunch of gory books—is that there are characters that I really learn to love.  Katniss shows immense kindness and integrity while fighting in the arena, protecting a much younger, much sweeter girl named Rue and Peeta, her partner from her home district.

That’s cool, isn’t it?  Kind of an unexpected twist that makes her more human to me.

And The Hunger Games is full of interesting moral questions:

  1. Should we stand up to power when the powerful are making choices that are horrible?
  2. Would we act with character and class even in circumstances that are completely out of our control?
  3. Could we become horrible people if it meant protecting our own lives?

Those kinds of questions kept me wondering throughout The Hunger Games…and wondering is one of my favorite things to do.  Even better, those questions keep me wondering even today—and when a book makes me wonder long after I’ve finished reading it, it’s a-okay to say the least.

The Hunger Games Rating:  Way100

18 Responses to “The Hunger Games Rules. . .”

  1. Brent September 27, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    Okay it was a okay book but okay is not great.

    MR Ferriter says

    violent, blow ‘em up, rock ‘em, sock ‘em robot kind of book. Almost every chapter sees the main character—Katniss Everdeen—in a predicament fit only for an imagination. She’s chased by horrible creatures, hunted by horrible kids, and forced to do horrible things.

    well I think some chapters were predictable. on top of it all the beginning made sense but was very boring actually it seemed very boring some parts could have been taken out they spend to long explaining her jobs and her friends there was like 10 pages on how she hunts and sells it. I might of started the story like

    Katniss Everdeen is a 16 year ld girl who lives with her sister (Prim) she also lives with her mother. The place they live is Panem which is divided into 12 disticts and the family of three lives in district 12.
    that would be my first page except I would stretch it out and talk about everything more.Talk about the past

    Suzan collins turned the book around once the games started.

    Mr.Ferriter says

    What made The Hunger Games different from all of the other gory books I’ve read in my life though—and I’ve read a bunch of gory books—is that there are characters that I really learn to love. Katniss shows immense kindness and integrity while fighting in the arena, protecting a much younger, much sweeter girl named Rue and Peeta, her partner from her home district.

    That’s cool, isn’t it? Kind of an unexpected twist that makes her more human to me.

    well in all gory books you read you really should get to know the characters most there is a nice person two people are friends the something happens like one is a vampire but hunger games didn’t have a vampire so that does make it interesting.most books there is someone who tries to be a hero usually
    wins

    well it was a good book

    way:70

    • alex ram September 29, 2010 at 12:57 am #

      70?!?!

      The rating this book deserved was givin by mr.ferriter. Even though part 1 was long and made you want to put the book down, it includes story behind the main event and also has introduction to the charachters.

      Brent says

      I think some chapters were predictable

      I think you are correct, you could kind of see where everything was going in some chapters, but rating it a way 70? at least 75.

      part 2 does change things around and you could tell that it would. once in the games, you get to see her respectable charachter in action in a fight to the death, arena style. There would be no point in reading further if you did not see reason in part one at all.
      Now for the good stuff. I think the action was very amazing and I was awestruck at how Suzanne Collins described the actions and thoughts of Katniss, the main charachter and how she defeated her enemys in multiple, creative ways. normally when you think fight to the death, you think Boom, and there dead, but the limited recourses in the games make it an interesting read as well.

      what you think the first page should be, is not elaborated enough. that would leave readers questioning about the rest of the story, particularly the exposition.

      If I were to rate this book on the way scale, it would be a way95. i think way 100 is too jurrastic after explaining part 1, but the others ALMOST made up for the whole boredom debate

      WAY: 95

      HOW IS THIS PUSHBACK??

      are you ALWAYS right?

      i guess we’ll find out

      • Brent September 29, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

        Okay no alex

        Part 1 was so brutally boring almost stopped there, I read the whole red pyramid so I know when a book gets really boring. Part 2 was not even that great it was a little brutal.

        Suzan collins might of elaborated to much.

        I was very very close to putting the book down even when the games started.

        Way 70 was a high rating because the book lacked in a lot

        I look for a for a beginning that immediately gets me right in

        The hinger games just didn’t do that.

        Alex says

        Now for the good stuff. I think the action was very amazing and I was awestruck at how Suzanne Collins described the actions and thoughts of Katniss, the main charachter and how she defeated her enemys in multiple, creative ways. normally when you think fight to the death, you think Boom, and there dead, but the limited recourses in the games make it an interesting read as well

        I thought, yet again they could take parts out in part 2

        it is very creative. My opinion is different I just didn’t like the book that much

        Try to change my mind

        You cant

        way 70

  2. The Great Landini September 27, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    Yes, you heard right, The Great Landini returns!

    While I agree that The Hunger Games is one of the best books I’ve read in a while, there’s only one thing I can’t resist more than a good book: a good argument.

    So here’s my pushback:
    You say that The Hunger Games raises many interesting moral questions, and is “a violent, blow ‘em up, rock ‘em, sock ‘em robot kind of book,” but I believe that it is a love story in disguise…the overused “star-crossed lovers” scenario. Worse, Katniss doesn’t even have a high enough moral character for me to be sympathetic to her. Katniss is a self-centered fool with a bow and arrow. As Gale said in Mockingjay, Katniss chooses whoever she can’t survive without, so she changes her opinion constantly. Back home, she can’t survive without Gale, but in the arena, it’s Peeta she can’t survive without. Of course, without President Snow, she’d go right back to Gale once she made it out of the arena. The Hunger Games is practically a comedy! The soap opera meter is off the charts! The final outrage is the finale of Mockingjay: Katniss is able to live with herself after (censored, not going to spoil the ending) dies! If this doesn’t prove she’s self-centered, nothing will.

    I will certainly agree with you about Mockingjay though. The plotline leading up to Mockingjay had quite a bit of potential of turning the series around, saving it from a romantic death, but Mockingjay just didn’t deliver. Mockingjay was the final nail in the coffin. The scene where Katniss pretends to be asleep while Gale and Peeta are talking? You know where I’ve seen that before? One of the Twilight books. Another terrible thing about Mockingjay is that Gale doesn’t see the new president’s corruption! Gale was the most aware of the corruption of the former system, but magically, he is unable to see the corruption of the new system? This is a little bit of a stretch for me. Finally, the whole thing was horribly, unbelievably predictable. Katniss was the Mockingjay, Peeta was the boy with the bread, Gale was…Gale. It is quite clear from this that Katniss would choose Peeta by the time everything was said and done. A final point about the series: The Hunger Games is a very systematic book, everyone dies in a nice and orderly fashion, a few threats are made, and everyone goes home. Catching Fire is less so: many people die systematically, but it is clear the real enemy is the government. Unfortunately, things take a turn for the worse when a whole new cast of characters is introduced in Mockingjay, with a coach that replaces Haymitch (the best character in the books, by the way), and a new leader where Gale or Katniss should be. In Mockingjay, everything goes topsy-turvy and nothing has the elegance of the systematic deaths (but excellent twists) of the Hunger Games.

    So that’s my pushback, what do all the rest of you think?

  3. alvin September 28, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    In a few ways your all kind of right. I’m reading the book right now. Some parts are quite predictable although some parts are incredibly good. As soon as Katniss sees the bow you know she’ll eventually end up with it. Many parts do show potential to get romantic & stuff. I do agree with Brent that the intro is long & rather boring. Some info they tell you is completely useless such as how she met Gale and how she was named.
    The fireball part kept me on the edge of my seat as did the blowing up of the careers supplies. If you didn’t read the blurb it was surprising when Katniss takes Prim’s place in the games. In her thoughts you do hear hints of care for other characters throughout the book.
    My Rating So Far: Way 60

  4. Kayla S. September 29, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    I love “The Hunger Games”… I’m reading it right now. Though it really is a good book, the introduction seems long. That doesn’t mean I hate the book but everything can be improved. You said so yourself Mr.F. I can’t wait till the fight scenes! I was really curios when I got to when they are all waiting on the district is waiting for the pick of who goes to fight. I am also very exited to read books two and three.

    Right now my rating is: way90

  5. alex ram October 4, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    brent…

    You have made several mistakes in your last post that I will so pleasently fix for you. #1, Part 2 was amazing. even though it may have been brutal, it is not a childrens book. It was labeled “young adult” which correct me if i’m wrong, means that book was meant for young adults. i think i might just have read part 2 in one night #2, how can you have too much elaboration, suzanne collins writes and describes the hunger games in perfect harmony with action, suspense, and storyline.

    count me in on looking forward to a good begining, but being a good book(as the rest of it goes), i still think the hunger games deserves a way:95.

    brent says: i thought, yet again they could have taken out of part 2.

    if they did, then the horribility of part one would have overwhelmed the overall balance of boring and blood. there would be more boring, making the story worse.

    in other words, the book deserves a way:95 as it is.

    WAY:95

    HOW IS THIS PUSHBACK??

    are you ALWAYS right?

    i guess we’ll find out.

    • Brent October 25, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

      The book was okay in a way it is like rick riordan books. I think this because I thought the beginning was very boring thats just like the rick riordan books.

      Alex says

      it may have been brutal, it is not a childrens book. It was labeled “young adult” which correct me if i’m wrong, means that book was meant for young adults. i think i might just have read part 2

      I say some parts were so brutal that the whole book should be labeled adult

      Alex says

      suzanne collins writes and describes the hunger games in perfect harmony with action, suspense, and storyline.

      I say The beginning lacked of all that.

      Alex says

      if they did, then the horribility of part one would have overwhelmed the overall balance of boring and blood. there would be more boring, making the story worse

      I say in every story there are parts you can take out.

      Way 70

      still..

  6. alison beck 2010 October 5, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    im reading the hunger games right now to. so far i cant get my eyes off of it because there is always somthing interesting going on no matter where in the book.

    so far im kinda agreeing with mr ferriter because it is really action packed once you get into it and know what is going on.

    the first thing i look for is how the begging pulls you into the book. but really the begining wasnt that good but i kept reading and i seen it start to get really interesting

    i give it a way100 just as well

  7. alex27502 October 26, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    Got to say that the hunger games is not as good as every one says. During trackout I finished the hunger games and was annoyed that the end was so slow. I say that it was a total let down at the end. The sadest part was that I was just hopeing the end would come soon after she won. I think that the hunger games is the one that would go under better than books that stink and under books that rock. The only books that I think that Sould be under are the clive cussler books like vixon 03 and night probe. With one author is tom clancy

  8. Carly B September 12, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Hunger Games is my favorite book ever Alex how could you think that. I read that book for eight hours straight i loved it so much, although i have to admit if you have not read it and you don’t like books with sad parts that it might not be the book for you because there are some parts in the book that get pretty sad. I love it because it is very action packed and you always are wondering what daring thing might happen next. I agree with Mr. Ferriter that this book deserves a way100 it is amazing and it is still my favorite book ever.

    • Gracie C. September 27, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      Thank you Carly! “although i have to admit if you have not read it and you don’t like books with sad parts that it might not be the book for you because there are some parts in the book that get pretty sad.” Every time I say that I haven’t read the Hunger Games I get a lot of GASPs and WHYs and YOU HAVE TO READ ITs. I’m like ‘Okay, its just 1(3) book, there are plenty of other great books out there, thats not the 1 for me’ Thank You Carly for clarifying that the Hunger Games isn’t for everyone. I don’t like sad books because they make me, well, sad with the Exception of Drums , Girls, and Dangerous Pie, but that book has a funny twist and ends happy. And I, personally, don’t like to be sad, I also don’t like violence (Cough… Hufflepuff… Cough Cough) . It is never the answer to a problem, so the Hunger Games isn’t for me, and I hope I don’t get any replies saying WHAT! THE HUNGER GAMES IS AWESOME! because Carly and I have explained that not every book is for every person. Just because I like A Wrinkle in Time doesn’t mean that Joe Schmoe has to like it.

      P.S. You should read A Wrinkle in Time if you like the hunger games because it is also Science Fiction-ish. It involves Alternate worlds and different dimensions, the beginning is great ‘It was a dark and stormy night…’

      • Carly B October 7, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

        Gracie is a great example of how books are not for everyone. If you don’t like to read books with violence and things that are sad (even though the book end happy from a certain point of view) The Hunger Games might not be the book for you. Another good example of how some books are not for everyone is Mr. Ferriter with The Lightning Thief, that book just is not made for everyone and Mr. Ferriter is one of the people who this book is not made for. It is ok to not like some books as long as you are not reading just graphic novels. At least that is my opinion…

  9. Andy H. September 14, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    When I read the Hunger games I almost peed my pants when I finished it because it was so awesome. I loved reading it with all the battles and especially the last few days. Katniss is AWESOME!!!

    • wferriter September 15, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

      Andy wrote:
      I loved reading it with all the battles and especially the last few days. Katniss is AWESOME!!!

      This is a really interesting comment to me, Andy—It’s cool that a girl main character has caught your attention. I wonder if that’s a characteristic of a really good book—-I wonder if the best books have main characters that resonate with readers no matter what their gender is.

      I also wonder if there really is such a thing as “girl books” and “boy books.”

      You’ve got me wondering…
      Mr. F

  10. Lara K. September 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Mr. Ferriter said:
    I also wonder if there really is such a thing as “girl books” and “boy books.”

    I think there CAN be, but not always. I’m pretty sure most people consider “the dude’s boook of smashing things” a boy book, but a girl could read it. A girl can be a dude too, right?

    The bottom line is that there really aren’t “boy” or “girl” books, but girls tend to lean towards certain books, and boys tend to lean towards different ones. It’s that simple- even if it isn’t simple in reality, It’s a simple logic.

  11. Matthew W. September 27, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Can We rate this book higher because then this book would be way 500.

  12. annoymas kid track three roks! October 17, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    hunger games was a boring book to me its didnt catch my eye like harry potter and the chronicals of vladimar tod series( great books by the way)

Leave a Reply

