Welcome to I’m ALWAYS Right!

26 Sep

So I’ve been a teacher for a long, long time now.  And I’ve been a reader for even longer.

That makes me an expert, doesn’t it?

Sure it does.

But ever since I read Rick Riordan’s The Lightning Thief—which is unquestionably one of the WORST books ever written—my students have started to question my brilliance when it comes to picking out good books.

This blog is my attempt to reclaim my rightful position as book-chooser-extraordinaire!  Not only am I going to take strong positions on the books I’m reading, I’m going to PROVE that I’m right in detailed posts that are impossible to deny.  I’m even going to use my very own scoring system to rate the books I’m reading.

And if you’re brave enough, SMSers, you’ll push back.  I dare you to point out the flaws in my thinking.  I dare you to convince me that my positions on individual books are wrong.  I dare you to change my mind.

Bring it!

Mr. F

6 Responses to “Welcome to I’m ALWAYS Right!”

  1. haley n September 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Hi! I dare question your thinking, for a few reasons. First off, I think you should read the book, then decide what you think about it. “The Lightning Thief” series got better each time. Before you rate the other books Rick Riordan wrote, READ THEM FIRST!! You loved the Hunger Games but what if Mocking Jay had come first??? You probably wouldn’t have read it, would you have? The lightning thief wasn’t perfect, but that doesn’t mean the rest of the series stink. Secondly, you don’t even know the characters names right. “Annabelle
    “is AnnaBETH. Maybe you could think about that and remember peoples names correctly. If you read the books you hate again, you may feel differently about them. You could have them fresh in your mind. It would make them easier for you to review, instead of reading it 4 years ago, then reviewing it. Please think about this for it could be helpful. Thanks for your time!!! -Haley

    • Blair G. October 8, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      I agree with Haley.

      Haley says:
      You loved the Hunger Games but what if Mocking Jay had come first??? You probably wouldn’t have read it, would you have? The lightning thief wasn’t perfect, but that doesn’t mean the rest of the series stink.

      Just because the Lightning Thief wasn’t the best, it doesn’t mean the author is a bad writer, OR the rest of the series stinks. It just means maybe the author wasn’t thinking clearly. The Lightning Thief is “unquestionably one of the [BEST] books I have ever read!” I have copies of the whole series, Mr. Ferriter. Just ask if you want to borrow them. But PLEASE do not burn them if you borrow them. Maybe clear your mind of the Lightning Thief and start on a new foot with the rest of the series.

      I hope this helps.

      ♥,Blair

  2. Sam September 30, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Wow Haley…you defently proved a point on that!!!

    Haley said:You loved the Hunger Games but what if Mocking Jay had come first??? You probably wouldn’t have read it, would you have?

    Ok, For that you have an awesome point…not all of the good comes first, sometimes you start out bad but end good…i think maybe the author was just getting a feel for what he was writing…and didn’t really think about it…but then again i haven’t read the lightning thief so i don’t know really.

    But knowing Mr. Ferriter your right, if mocking jay was first in the hunger games series then he probably wouldn’t have read it…Would you have Mr. F…and then you never would have discovered your favorite book, the Hunger Games.i think Haley definitely has a point there…and she did prove you wrong!

    • Brooke G. October 29, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

      Haley says:
      The Lightning Thief series got better each time. Before you rate the other books Rick Riordan wrote, READ THEM FIRST!! You loved the Hunger Games but what if Mocking Jay had come first??? You probably wouldn’t have read it, would you have? The lightning thief wasn’t perfect, but that doesn’t mean the rest of the series stink.

      I have one thing to say back to Haley on that comment (sorry Haley):
      If the Mockinjay came before the Hunger Games, nothing would have made sense. Would it have? But, she has a point. Think about it, Mr. Ferriter. Are you up to it? Will you read more Percy Jackson books?

      • **Kayla** December 1, 2010 at 2:31 am #

        Haley says:
        You loved the Hunger Games but what if Mocking Jay had come first??? You probably wouldn’t have read it, would you have?

        Well Haley, you might be on to something. Mr.F, tell the truth would you have read the hunger games if mocking jay had come first?

        I DARE YOU, Mr.F, to challenge me.

        Tell me would you have read the hunger games if mocking jay had come first…that is without the hunger games being one of your students requests!

        Its the same kind of thing with the lightning thief. if you just read some of the next books then maybe they will keep getting better.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 60 Second Book Hooks | SMS Guys Read - October 14, 2011

    […] As many of you know I teach 6th grade as well as wrangle middle school boys in our Guys Read club.  I am here today to announce a book review venture that will see my Gnome academic team partnering with the SMS Guys Read club to create some cool book reviews.  To make it easy on ourselves we decided to use a co-teacher’s site to house our reviews.  The site is called I’m Always Right. […]

Leave a Reply

